STAR Wars: Episode VII will see some of the original cast member’s reprise their famous characters when filming begins at Pinewood Studios in May.

Three of the films biggest stars Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher and Mark Hammill, will return for the latest instalment, Star Wars have confirmed.

The movie legends will reappear in the film as Han Solo, Princess Leia and Luke Skywalker respectively.

Other actors to be making a return for the new Star Wars film are Peter Mayhew (Chewbacca), Kenny Baker (R2-D2) and Anthony Daniel (C-3P0).

Other cast members who have been confirmed for the new film directed by JJ Abrams are Andy Serkis, Max von Sydow, John Boyega, Isaac, Domhnall Gleeson Daisy Ridley and Adam Driver.

Director JJ Abrams said: "We are so excited to finally share the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII.

"It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again.

"We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud."

The movie is expected to be released on December 18, 2015.