Boris Johnson has been unveiled as the new Prime Minister by Amersham and Chesham MP Dame Cheryl Gillan.

Why was Dame Cheryl the one announcing the result, however?

The MP for Amersham and Chesham and Broxbourne MP Charles Walker are currently the joint chairs of the 1922 Committee.

The committee consists of all Conservative backbench MPs and provides a way for the backbenchers to discuss their views away from senior party figures.

The two have been in the role since the former chair MP Graham Brady resigned in order to consider launching a leadership bid himself.

Today, following a short speech from party chairman Brandon Lewis, Dame Cheryl Gillan and Charles Walker made the announcement.

This is because the two, alongside their roles as the joint chairs, are the returning officers for the 1922 Committee.