A CHILTERN District Councillor and the founder of a newspaper for the blind are among those to be celebrated in the New Year’s Honours list.

Cllr Mohammad Bhatti, a Chesham resident and member for the Newtown ward, has been awarded an MBE(Member of the British Empire) for services to local Government and the community. He has been on the district council since 1999.

Rosemary Jane Buchan Segrove, founder and chair of the Beaconsfield Talking Newspaper, Buckinghamshire has been given an MBE for services to People with Visual Impairment.

And for services to elderly people in Chesham, an MBE has been awarded to Brenda May Forty, a resident of the town.

An OBE (Order of the British Empire) has been given to Anne Shirley Harrison of Amersham for services to public protection, in her work as head of Specialist Operational Support for the National Policing Improvement Agency.

And Christopher Inman of Chalfont St Giles, honorary treasurer for the British Fashion Council has been awarded an OBE for services to the fashion industry.

Other honours awarded to residents of Bucks are as follows:

A Knights Bachelor has been awarded to Andrew Witty, chief executive officer of GlaxoSmithKline. for services to the Economy and to the UK Pharmaceutical Industry.

An OBE has been awarded to Felicity Mary Hilder of Aylesbury, founder of the Lymphoma Association, for charitable services.

And MBE’s have been awarded to the following people:

Dr Glenis Carole Basiro Davey, of Milton Keynes, for services to higher and health education through her work with The Open University Science Faculty, and Health Education and Training Programme, Africa.

Sheila Gurnett, of Winslow, for services to children and young people, through her work as girlguide leader and community worker, Buckinghamshire.

Susan Marian Tither, a Metropolitan Police constable from Aylesbury, for services to the police.

Alderman Kevin John Wilson, a member of Milton Keynes Council, for services to local government.