Wycombe Wanderers boss Gareth Ainsworth claimed third place in the League Managers Association Manager of the Year award.

In a virtual ceremony on Monday, July 27, former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson announced that Ainsworth had finished in third place behind Sheffield United's Chris Wilder who was second, and Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp who claimed the prize.

READ MORE: How shock miracle at Torquay help put Gareth Ainsworth's team on path to greatness

Ainsworth, who has been at the club as manager since September 2012, was recognized for his efforts after getting Wycombe promoted to the Championship for the first time in the club’s history, after the Chairboys defeated Oxford United 2-1 at Wembley Stadium on Monday, July 13.

The ex-United boss hailed Wycombe’s fairytale as a ‘fantastic achievement' as they gained an unlikely promotion to the second tier of English football.

Ainsworth also missed out on the League One Manager of the Year accolade, as he was pipped by Coventry City boss Mark Robins, who claimed the award after guiding the Sky Blues to the league title, as well as promotion to the Championship for the first time in eight years.

READ MORE: This is how fans prepared ahead of Wycombe's win against Oxford United

Prior to lockdown, Wycombe were in eighth place but leapfrogged into third thanks to the points-per-game basis where they entered the play-offs.

They defeated Joey Barton’s Fleetwood Town 4-1 in the first leg at Highbury Stadium before drawing against the Cod Army 2-2 at Adams Park three days later, meaning they’d defeated the Lancashire side 6-3 on aggregate.