Wycombe Wanderers have progressed to the semi-finals of the EFL Trophy for the first time in seven years, as they comfortably defeated the Brighton & Hove Albion U21s 4-1 at Adams Park.

The Chairboys cruised into the final four with three first-half strikes in the space of five minutes, thanks to a Kieran Sadlier brace and an own goal from Leigh Kavanagh.

Before the goals, the match ebbed and flowed in Wanderers’ favour, and they were unfortunate not to take the lead inside 15 minutes when Chris Forino, who later went off injured, hit the inside of the post from close range.

Kane Vincent-Young was also causing the young PL2 side a lot of issues down the left-hand side as his cross was brilliant by Sadlier who fired wide, whilst Richard Kone’s effort was saved by Tom McGill.

It looked like the development team were going to go into the break all square, but after Dale Taylor hit the post, he teed up Sadlier who smashed it beyond the goalkeeper.

Two minutes later, a Luke Leahy free-kick was glanced into his own net by Leigh Kavanagh before Sadlier got a third which pretty much confirmed their last-four place.

Jason McCarthy, who was making his first start of the season following an injury-hit campaign, fired an excellent low cross that was dummied by Taylor, before the ex-Leyton Orient man fired home his second.

It was his fourth since joining the club in the autumn and his third in five matches in this competition.

Things went from bad to worse for Brighton as Jamie Mullins was shown a straight red card for a late tackle on Freddie Potts, before the visitors got themselves on the scoresheet through a well-taken goal by Luca Barrington.

The Wycombe will be a welcome distraction for the Chairboys following their terrible league form with one victory in 17, but Wanderers are now a solitary win from a day out at Wembley.

The Adams Park side could face League One rivals in Peterborough United, Blackpool, or League Two Bradford.

The Chairboys defeated the latter in the FA Cup at Valley Parade back in November.

The draw will take place on February 2.