It was a blue wave in the first-ever Bucks Council unitary elections, as the Conservatives swept numerous wards in the central and northern areas of Buckinghamshire.

The Tories dominated a large majority of the county, despite several Liberal Democrat candidates winning seats in their respected areas.

During a long and drawn out day at the Gateway Office in Aylesbury on Saturday, May 8, numerous candidates were ‘too tense to talk’ as the votes were being counted.

The calm before the storm

READ MORE: Buckinghamshire Council election results 2021: Live updates as new councillors are announced

This lead to several people having to leave the building for fresh air due to the ‘pressure of the result’.

However, it was revealed that out of the 16 areas, the Conservatives had 35 elected candidates, the Liberal Democrats had 14, whilst Labour and the Green Party only had one each.

One of the newly-elected councillors was Richard Gaster, who won a seat in the Aylesbury East ward, as he managed to achieve 1,232 votes.

He told the Free Press: “I’m really pleased.

Bill Chapple after winning his ward

READ MORE: Local elections 2021: Conservatives sweep the board in Chilterns

“It was my first time running so you don’t know what to expect.

“I went to school and grew up in the ward so for me, taking a step to represent the ward is an honour and it has also been a nice journey up to this point.

“I have always said that once I have got my routes and settled down in Aylesbury, which I am now as “I am married and have two kids, I started to get more in the community.

“I have always had an ambition to get involved in the local council, get involved with the schools and do more with school governments, but, it has always been an interest of mine to have a say and influence in my community.”

From a fresh-faced councillor to a veteran in the community, Bill Chapple, who is also a cabinet member for Environment and Climate Change, also spoke to the Free Press, after he secured a seat in the Aston Clinton & Bierton ward, with 1,939 votes. 

Angela Macpherson of Grendon Underwood

READ MORE: WATCH: Chaos at Wycombe election count as angry crowd 'thrown out'

He said: “I am very relieved.

"I have represented Aston Clinton for over 40 years and I was very pleased to be able to continue with the work I’m doing there.

“I’m well known in the area and I hope I can look after the residents the best I can and it is nice to know that they have got confidence in me.

“I’ve always seen myself as a representative of the people and if anyone has got a problem, I will try and deal with it.

“If you call me, I’ll see you in 24 hours as the sooner I know the problem, the quicker I can deal with it.

“A lot of people have come up to me and have said, ‘I have come to you as a last resort, and I say, ‘why, didn’t you get in touch with me first?’

“I love the work, the people, the atmosphere of walking around the villages and protecting the people who live in the area.

The Tories won several wards

READ MORE: Meet the Russian couple who have taken Bucks by storm with their pies

“In the last council, I was a cabinet minister for climate change and the environment, so I have started a strategy to become carbon neutral – I will be here to look after the people.”

Out of the 16 wards, there were only three areas in which the Conservatives did not secure any seats, as they were all taken by Lib Dem candidates.

The only Labour victory

These were in Aylesbury West, Aylesbury South West and Aylesbury North respectively.

To see all the elected councillors in the Aylesbury wards, look below.

Aylesbury North West

Tuffail Hussain, Liberal Democrat 1,174 votes: 15 per cent

Anders Carl Christensen: Liberal Democrat: 1,156 votes: 15 per cent

Gurinder Wadhwa: Liberal Democrat: 888 votes: 11 per cent

Stone & Waddesdon

Paul Irwin: Conservative: 1,826 votes, 18 per cent

Ashley Waite: Conservative: 1,692 votes, 17 per cent

Mike Caffrey: Conservative: 1,515 votes: 15 per cent

Aston Clinton & Bierton

Mike Collins: Conservative: 1,939 votes: 18 per cent

Bill Chapple: Conservative: 1,860 votes: 17 per cent

Julie Ward: Conservative: 1,686 votes: 16 per cent

Aylesbury East

Mark Winn: Conservative: 1,547 votes: 17 per cent

Richard Gaster: Conservative: 1,232 votes: 14 per cent

Tom Hunter-Watts: Liberal Democrats: 1,121 votes: 13 per cent

Wendover, Halton & Stoke Mandeville

Steve Bowles: Conservative, 1,572 votes: 17 per cent

Peter Strachan: Conservative: 1,426 votes, 16 per cent

Richard Newcombe, Conservative: 1,200 votes, 13 per cent

Grendon Underwood

Angela Macphearson: Conservative: 2,152 votes: 22 per cent

Frank Mahon: Conservative: 1,882 votes: 19 per cent

Michael Rand: Conservative: 1,767, 18 per cent

Buckingham West

Robin Stuchbury: Labour: 1,716 votes: 18 per cent

Caroline Cornell: Conservative: 1,545 votes: 16 per cent

Patrick Fealey: Conservative: 1,439 votes: 15 per cent

Great Brickhill

Phil Gimm: Conservative: 1,889 votes: 17 per cent

Jilly Jordan: Conservative: 1,786 votes: 16 per cent

Iain Macpherson: Conservative: 1,664 votes: 15 per cent


Peter Brazier: Conservative: 1,834 votes: 18 per cent

Chris Poll: Conservative: 1,805 votes: 18 per cent

Derek Town: Conservative: 1,727 votes: 17 per cent


Ashley Bond: Conservative: 1,637 votes: 17 per cent

Diana Blamires: Conservative: 1,436 votes: 15 per cent

Peter Cooper: Liberal Democrat: 1,445 votes: 15 per cent

Buckingham East

Warren Whyte: Conservative: 1,385 votes: 18 per cent

Howard Mordue: Conservative: 1,226 votes: 16 per cent

Ade Osibogun: Conservative: 953 votes: 12 per cent

Aylesbury North

Tim North: Liberal Democrat: 1,309 votes: 15 per cent

Raj Khan: Liberal Democrat: 1,291 votes: 15 per cent

Susan Morgan: Liberal Democrat: 1,262 votes: 14 per cent


Gregory Smith: Green Party: 1,880 votes: 15 per cent

Cameron Branston: Conservative: 1,665 votes: 14 per cent

Nic Brown: Conservative: 1,541 votes: 13 per cent


John Chilver: Conservative: 1,645 votes: 18 per cent

David Goss; Conservative: 1,595 votes: 17 per cent

Beville Stainer: Conservative: 1,311 votes: 14 per cent

Aylesbury West

Steven Lambert: Liberal Democrat: 1,395 votes: 19 per cent

Sarah James: Liberal Democrat: 1,353 votes: 19 per cent

Adam Poland: Liberal Democrat: 1,124 votes: 16 per cent

Aylesbury South West

Waheed Raja: Liberal Democrat: 1,142 votes: 16 per cent

Mary Baldwin Liberal Democrat: 1,063 votes: 15 per cent

Niknam Hussain: Liberal Democrat: 1,032 votes: 15 per cent

Aylesbury South East

Sue Chapple: Conservative: 1,511 votes: 18 per cent

Denise Summers: Conservative: 1, 408 votes: 16 per cent

David Thompson: Conservative: 1,389 votes: 16 per cent