SIR William Borlase’s were crowned County Cup winners after winning a nail-biting penalty flick shoot-out with Dr Challoners in the final.

Charlie Brockwell took the glory with the winning flick after keeper Max Ellis had performed heroics in the Borlase’s goal.

However, the county victory was slow in coming. The eventual winners were sluggish in the early stages with a 0-0 draw against John Hampden B in their opening game.

They beat their own C team in the next match but were frustrted again in game three, a 0-0 draw with Dr Challoners in what turned out to be a dress rehearsal for the final.

But 4-0 and 7-0 victories over RGS High Wycombe B and Dr Challoners C in their final two group games saw them qualify for the semi-finals as runners up.

They met Beacon in the last four and dominated from the start, with Thom Sheldon opening the scoring before Toby Hill settled it with their second goal.

That set up a rematch with Dr Challoners, and again the sides couldn’t be separated in a 0-0 draw after normal time.

The first four flicks couldn’t decide it either, but after Ellis saved for Borlase’s Whitaker won it with a flick into the bottom left corner.

The winning team is: Julian Whitaker, Andrew Barton, Toby Hill, Tom Jackson, Charlie Brockwell, Charlie Peplow, Will Aldiss, Tom Sheldon. Keeper Max Ellis