RGS High Wycombe have won their second English rugby title in as many years after following up the National Schools crown they won at Wembley in August with Sevens glory at Rosslyn Park.

Their U13s beat 128 schools to win the National 7s on the 75th anniversary of the tournament.

They beat Christ’s Hospital 24-7 to take victory at the end of another scintillating season.

Efan Morris, who received the trophy from Wasps scrum half Jack Moates, said: “It feels really good to win the tournament; we were hoping we would win but we never thought we would actually do it.

“We are all ecstatic to get the victory, we all fought to the end and didn't give up and managed to win.

“There were a few moments where I thought they might come back but we managed to see it through. It's been an amazing experience and I'm really proud of the team."

Both schools were unbeaten going into the final, but RGS were too strong as they ran in four tries to one to cap off a remarkable season for the U13s, who won all 13 of their 15-a-side games to top the Schools Rugby Performance League.

The build up to Rosslyn Park had been equally impressive, comfortably winning the Warwick and Solihull Sevens respectively and scoring over 600 points in the process.

However, their path to the final at Rosslyn Park was anything but straightforward.

In the last 32 they needed two tries in the final 90 seconds to beat St. Benedict’s 29-28, and they were on the brink of defeat in their semi-final with Crypt Grammar School until another last-gasp score.

That levelled it up at 17-17, before scoring the decisive ‘golden try’ in extra-time.

Aaron Drewe and then Matvey Boguslvasky both scored in the first half of the final, but Christ’s Hospital crossed themselves to make it 12-7 at the interval.

However, RGS stepped it up after half-time with further scores from Timmy Wraight and Morris completing the win.

Head coach Tom Hollyer said: “It was an unbelievable two days of rugby.

“The boys worked so hard and simply refused to give up. I couldn’t be prouder to have coached this incredibly talented group of boys and they all thoroughly deserve this title.”

U13 Sevens squad: Efan Morris, James Baldwin, Aaron Bello, Matvey Boguslavsky, Matt Bowen, Harry Bradshaw, Henry Chilcott, Aaron Drewe, Will Roberts, Roshan Russell, Oscar Thomas, Jack Wakely, Adam Whelan, Timmy Wraight.